Adding to cart… The item has been added

This collection includes premiere recordings of the choral works of composer Juan Orrego-Salas, founder and first director of Indiana University's Latin American Music Center. Born in Chile in 1919, Juan Orrego-Salas studied with Domingo Santa Cruz, Randall Thompson and Aaron Copland, becoming one of the most important Latin American composers of the 20th-century. The disc includes the world-premiere of his cantata La Ciudad Celeste for baritone, chorus and orchestra, conducted by Carmen Helena Téllez, and featuring baritone Benjamn Eley. Based on texts from Revelation, it was commissioned to celebrate the 500th anniversary of the Evangelization of America in 1992, and is distinguished by its dazzling colors and declamatory verve. Another important work in the collection is the Cánticos Sagrados for chorus and instrumental ensemble, conducted by Jan Harrington, a great example of Orrego-Salas's devotional lyricism. The virtuosic Madrigales for chorus a cappella showcase Orrego-Salas unique brand of modernism, in contrast to the lovely set of early works in neoclassical style based on Spanish Golden-Age poems. The CD features the Indiana University Singers, Contemporary Vocal Ensemble and Chamber Orchestra.


  1. Lam ciudad celeste  OP for baritone, chorus and orchestra

     Benjamin Eley, baritone

     Guido Gartner, concertmaster

     Indiana University Comtemporaty Vocal Ensemble, University Singers and Chamber 


    Carmen Helena Tellez, conductor

  1. Romance a lo divino  OP for chorus a cappella
  2. Villancico Op for chorus a cappella

Tres romance pastorales Op for chorus a cappella

  1. Las flores del romero
  2. De los montes vengo
  3. Enun pastoral albergue

Tres madrigales OP for a cappella

  1. Pidiole a Narciso
  2. Amarilis
  3. Moca tn fermosa

       Indiana University Contemporary Cocal Ensemble

       Carmen Helena Tellez conductor

Tres canticos sagrados Op for chorus and instrumental ensemble

  1. De profundis
  2. Jesu dulcis
  3. O vos imnes

       Robert Samels, Bass 

       Indiana University Singers and Instrumental Ensemble

       Jan Harrington conductor